The RPSC Annual General Meeting

held on Saturday May 27, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. in the Montarville Room, Hotel Mortagne, Boucherville, Quebec

Record of Decisions

- 1/ The meeting was opened at 10:00 am with nineteen (19) members in attendance. George Pepall welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order. Rod Paige was appointed Secretary.
- 2/ Approval of the minutes of the 88th AGM held 20th August 2016 in Kitchener/Waterloo: proposed by Ken Magee, seconded by Sam Chiu carried unanimously
- 3/ Rod Paige read out the names of the ten (10) members who had passed since the last AGM and called for a moment of silence in remembrance.
- 4/ President's Report: George Pepall began his final report as President by commenting on the new Editor of the "Canadian Philatelist" who appears very efficient and has the upcoming year fully mapped out. George then introduced a new note-card and encouraged all present to take some and to use them. George closed by encouraging the new Executive Board to meet whenever possible at upcoming Conventions
- 5/ Treasurer's report, Membership Statistics: Treasurer David Oberholzer being unable to attend, George Pepall discussed several of the points. Membership revenues remain constant, Membership donations have increased and the purchase of 112 new exhibit frames from the APS after the New York show. George advised the membership that the RPSC had shared an information table at the NY show. The budget anticipates a small decrease next year which will be offset by the increase in membership dues. The Federal Grant of \$10,000 for small publications will continue to assist with the production costs of the "Canadian Philatelist". TAPE will continue providing medals for National shows and will assist in other related subsidies. The medal policy needs review due to the new, expanded, medal award levels. There being no further comments from the floor, a motion to accept the Treasurer's report was proposed by Douglas McCandless and seconded by Stuart Keeley passed unanimously.
- 6/ National Office report: A report has been received from Garfied Portch. The National Office fielded 150 queries in the last year. Garfield, with help from Ingo Nessel, reported that the slide program is well underway with five (5) presentations ready to go. Garfield made recognition of the excellent work done by Margaret Schulzke at the Head Office. Any further comments are to be addressed by Robert Timberg at the National Office.
- 7/ Directors and Officer's reports: Rod Paige announced that next year the convention will be held in St. Catharines, Ontario and encouraged all present to contact their local clubs to see if there is any interest in hosting a future Royal / Royale show. Stuart Keeley discussed his research into past venues and suggested the introduction of a fixed rotation for upcoming Conventions. Stuart also mentioned that two-day events could be possible in the future and that small entrance fees might be

required to help with the budgets. Charles Verge spoke briefly on the organization of Royal/Royale Conventions.

8/ Jacques Poitras introduced the new, English version stamp album for kids 'My Treasure Chest' published by the FQP. Original text by Jean-Pierre Picard with translation by Francois Brisse and edited by Jacques Poitras. 2300 copies have been printed, financed through the RPSC with assistance from Peter Butler and George Pepall. Ed Kroft suggested that a copy of the album be attached to the RPSC website together with any related costs.

9/ New RPSC 50+ Club Members: There are five (5) new members – Dudley Blascheck in British Columbia has been presented with his pin by Peter Newroth, Jack Isaacson in BC has been presented with his pin by Grey Scrimgeour, Gordon J. Downey (Ont), R.D.Matthew (BC) and Kenneth C. Redmond (BC) will receive theirs shortly.

10/ Presentation of the Geldert Medal: will be done at a later date

11/ Announcement of retiring members: There were five (5) members retiring – George Pepall, David Oberholtzer, Francois Brisse, Marilyn Melanson and Rodney Paige. Those present received a thankyou and a medal from Charles Verge, David Oberholtzer will receive his at a later date.

12/ Nominating Committee and Election of new Directors: Four (4) Directors are incumbent – Jim Taylor, Robert Timberg, Ed Kroft, Ernest Wlock and one (1) New Director – Hugo Deshaye, will all have to stand for re-election next year. Three (3) Directors were re-elected for a two-year term – Rob Lunn, Stuart Keeley and Robert Pinet. There are two (2) new Directors who have two-year terms – Sam Chiu, Lloyd Field. It was proposed by Ed Kroft and seconded by Ken Magee that the incumbent and new Directors be welcomed to their new positions – approved.

13/ Ratification of all Acts and Proceedings of the Board of Directors and Executive since the last Annual General Meeting: Motion proposed by Ken Magee and seconded by Richard Gratton. There being no further discussion, the motion was passed unanimously.

14/ There was no new business

15/ Adjournment was proposed by Douglas McAndless. The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 am

Rod Paige

Secretary rpaige@sympatico.ca